Special Delivery! 

So anyone who follows me on good old Instagram will know that I received a letter in the post today that I would consider to be up there on the special radar!!

I was going to keep this to myself, not even tell Jon (which I’m still not going to do haha!) but I applied to the HFEA to get the unidentifiable information of the egg donor we used to conceive Evie. I have been toying with the idea since she was born & I the other week I just thought you know what I’m just going to do it. I won’t let Evie know I have applied for it (so that she can apply herself if she wants to) and I won’t tell Jon about it either.

Well, I was delighted to find out that she had left a personal message, something I had hoped she had left for Evie. I won’t go into full details that she wrote about her condition but she was told she couldn’t have children. She knows the pain we’ve been through and knows the heartbreak month after month. And the best thing of all? She’s had 2 children, a boy and a girl. She then decided to be sterilised and donate her eggs to women like me. To know that this woman has done so not just because she gets a bit of money, but also because she knows the pain infertility causes….that is just so so selfless. 

If Evie applies for the identifiable information when she is old enough and ends up finding this amazing woman, I would have to ask if I could spend just 2 minutes with her thanking her for all she gave me. She’s given me a life I thought I couldn’t have, one that I longed for from the moment I was told I couldn’t have it at 16 years old. I’m forever in her debt.

This might not be the big wow everyone thought if you saw my Instagram post, but I have waited to see this information for so long, to see the reason behind her donations and to finally put my mind at ease.

I urge anyone who is considering egg donation to go ahead and enquire. I won’t lie, it will probably involve doing things you didn’t think you would do, and of course your time will be taken up for a month or so with a few appointments for scans and blood tests, and then the egg collection day, but to even consider doing this is such a selfless act. I can’t imagine how it must feel to know that you have potentially given a couple a chance of having their own family, such pride and happiness. 

2 thoughts on “Special Delivery! 

  1. Jen says:

    I’m about to start a cycle as an egg donor and I have no idea what to write on the HEFA form!
    I’ve started and stopped so many time!

    Like

    • marie says:

      Awww she’s literally put on there why she’s decided to donate, what she does (she’s a sahm), what hopes she has for our family and for Evie. Mentioned Evie’s ‘mummy and daddy’ and how she’s helped them 😉 She’s addressed a lot to Evie rather than us.

      Like

Leave a Reply

